April 19

2017 Minnesota DARE Poster Contest

Minnesota D.A.R.E. Announces 2017 Statewide Poster Contest Winners

Golden Valley, MN—Minnesota D.A.R.E., Inc. would like to announce the 2017 Poster Contest winners. The first place winner will be throwing out the opening pitch at the Minnesota Twins Game on May 7, 2017. This year’s winning poster belonged to Ben in Stewardville, MN.  His DARE Officer is Deputy Mark Chambers.

This year’s theme was “D.A.R.E. To Be A Leader.” The contest was open for 5th or 6th grade D.A.R.E. students, statewide.

Minnesota D.A.R.E., Inc. received entries from all around Minnesota. The top entries will receive special DARE prizes. These winning posters will be put on display at the State Capitol in the North Corridor the week of April 24th and will be posted on www.mndare.org – Kid’s Blog and Minnesota D.A.R.E.’s Facebook page in the future.

Minnesota D.A.R.E. (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) is a prevention and education program that advocates and educates for healthy and safe children. D.A.R.E. serves young people and their families teaching the skills to make positive decisions, provides education on safe and healthy lifestyles and gives the tools to enable them to resist engaging in negative and violent behaviors. Over 25 million students have been reached worldwide and over 60,000 Minnesota students receive instruction annually.

2017 First Place Winning Poster:

Ben H.  (Stewardville) – Taught by: Deputy Mark Chambers – Olmsted Co. Sheriff’s Office

2017 Winning Poster

2017 Winning Posters


1 – Ben H. – Olmsted Co SO (Stewardville) – Officer Chambers

2- Meredith H. – Olmsted Co. SO (Byron ) – Officer Strum
3- Malakai W. – Bemidji PD – Officer Hunt
4- Olivia T. – Bemidji PD – Officer Hunt
5- Savannah T. – New Hope PD – Officer Korth

6- Charley N. – Moorhead PD (Reinerstson) – Officer Dahl

7- Alexis F. – Rice Co. SO (St. Dominic’s) – Officer Estrem
8- Charlese W. – Olmsted Co. SO (Byron) – Officer Strum
9- Alma Q. – New Hope PD – Officer Korth

10- Ellie C. – Chatfield PD – Officer Landorf
11 –Jonnae S. New Hope PD – Officer Korth

12- Erainne D. – Bemidji PD – Officer Hunt
13- Tyler S. – Olmsted Co. SO (Eyota) – Officer Johnson

14- MayAnne R. – Benton Co. SO (Foley) – Officer Dalton
15- Alexis W – Olmsted Co SO. (Dover) – Officer Johnson

16- Will H. – New Hope PD – Officer Korth
17- Abby S. – Kasson PD – Officer Kasel

18 – Audrey H. – McLeod Co. SO – Officer Geiken

Category: Uncategorized | Comments Off on 2017 Minnesota DARE Poster Contest